RIP The Luminaire

I’m in Bristol for this music event which I am privileged to have been asked to speak at. I find these experiences very interesting. Sometimes annoying, sometimes energising. I like to speak, and have become comfortable enough speaking in front of people. I believe I do a pretty good job of it. Many people far more experienced and clever than me are flatly not that good at speaking, or presenting, and I wish they’d do a little more in the presentation of themselves, their important messages getting lost in mumbles and unengaging banter which can lose a crowd. I am looking forward today to listening to a couple of panels about how to get heard, and the digital world. These should prove useful. I hope the people speak clearly and are engaging!

Like many people I got the email last night from The Luminaire informing me of their decision to call it a day. My friend Al English ex of ATP now of Blessing Force first told me about the venue as he’d played there with Youth Movies. so we had Billy Mahonie play there. My first experience therefore was of playing there. It was a busy night and I can remember the fun we had. The smooth running of the operation, the nice staff and so on. So I decided to bring a few of my Local or Knom Music events there and in the subsequent years we brought a good bunch of shows there. Some shows utterly bombed. Some were mad busy. We were always treated completely professionally, and with enthusiasm and kindness by Andy, John, Molly, Frid, Arthur, Matt, regardless of numbers.

I remember the countless times Andy told people to shut up. I loved the fact they wrote it on the walls. I brought one of our Shhh! events there once and it was a (quiet) blast. I have listened with interest at Andy’s rants about inequalities in venues, and I am aware in these austere times, of the shocking losses some places have the wherewithall to make – losses even half of which would buy some new kit or a stage for a new venue. I have enjoyed Andy’s rants about Agents too!

Perhaps all of us are responsible for this.  I should have tried harder to put more shows there. Some of those shows we took into bigger venues and performed very poorly we should have rammed the Lumi with. As punters we needed to accept that Kilburn isn’t that far away, and use what is actually a very fine public transport system to get to London’s finest small venue for a great night out more often. We’ll definitely miss this place now it has gone (is going).

I think as fans, and as musicians, we are often the last to take the reality check on what is working and what is not, as we’re the least willing to call it a day “just before the miracle happens”. What Andy and his team have done is incredibly sad but also bold and I can only imagine they’re very relieved just now. I look forward to seeing what their next move is. I bet it’s pretty exciting.

One response to “RIP The Luminaire

  • Noel

    I cant believe that they are closing. Very sad news indeed. I had some amazing times there and thought (wished) that one day I might get to play there. Not going to happen…

Leave a Reply

